Review · Reviews

The Ex-Girlfriend of My Ex-Girlfriend is my Girlfriend REVIEW

Book Cover for The Ex-Girlfriend of my ex-girlfriend is my girlfriend: advice on queer dating, love, and friendship by Maddy Court

The title is all too real.

This book is like reading one of those magazine advice columns, except everyone who writes in to ask for advice is gay and the advice column writers are also gay and give advice that is both heart warming and keeps it real.

As a non-binary lesbian, I found this title really affirming and a great resource for queer women and non-binary people. The LGBTQ community is so cis gay male focused, and this book is a great divergence from that norm that uplifts the unique struggles queer women face—and gives some great advice in return.

In addition to the author Maddy Court, there are also several guest contributors who add a bit of variety to the writing and shows the author’s commitment to intersectionality and not speaking over or for groups she does not belong to. Additionally, Kelsey Wroten has beautiful illustrations throughout the book that really adds something to the aesthetic.

I genuinely think this book is a great resource for all ages. As someone in my early twenties and out for over a third of my life, the section about coming out was not as helpful to me, but the sections on dating and heartbreak felt very poignant. This would particularly make a great gift for a young queer person, as I think this is a book someone could keep coming back to as their struggles and questions shift over time.

Thank you NetGalley and the publisher, Chronicle Books, for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.

This book releases in the U.S. on May 18, 2021.

Leave a comment